

Academic Senate Tuesday, January 10, 2017 4:00p Brockmann Conference Room Meeting Minutes

<u>Membership</u>: Lorren Schlotfeldt, Steven Don, Darlene Sellers, Fred Smiley, Mark Seiffert, Lanny Wilke, Spike Magelssen, Arlys Williams, Rodney Ridenour, William Rugg, Jamie Underwood

<u>Members Present</u>: Lorren Schlotfeldt, Jamie Underwood, Arlys Williams, Rodney Ridenour (phone), Steven Don, Spike Magelssen, Darlene Sellers, Lanny Wilke, and William Rugg

Recorder: Debra Bradley

Call to Order:

Lorren made the call to begin the meeting at 4:01p

Lorren said a "Thank you" to the group for letting him be the Chairman for another semester.

Minutes:

Steven made the motion, Arlys made the second to approve the minutes. Corrections – Lorren was not at the last meeting. Motion was made and all approved the corrected minutes of December 13. 2016

Provost/Chancellor Updates:

Chancellor Kegel, Provost Rugg and Dean Strizich will be heading to Redmond, Washington to receive the copy of the NWCCU Report and answer more questions.

Prior Learning will not be going away. Not able to accept more than %15 credit toward degree.

Semester starts tomorrow. There are already closed classes and wait lists on several classes.

External Committee Reports:

- <u>Strategic Action Teams</u>
 - Many discussions
 - Mini SAT plans
 - Equine just beginning
 - 2 private donors with land
- <u>UAC</u>
 - o 5 more policies updated

Senate Committee Reports:

• Admissions and Standards

- Members are: Wane Boyson, Amy Crowder-Klobofski, <u>Bill Danley (Chair)</u>, Joel Soiseth,
 - Jamie Underwood
 - Met on a Monday
 - Many students on suspension
 - Registrar's Office will send out alerts

• <u>Cultural Development</u>

- Members are: Josh Meyer, Fred Smiley, Kevin Holzworth, Cristy Ozburn
- Have been meeting and will send Lorren their reports
- <u>Curriculum</u>

0

- Members are: Terri Hildebrand, Jeremy Hofman, <u>Byron Ophus (Chair)</u>, Joey Todd, Arlys Williams
- Financial Aid
 - Members are: Virginia Braithwaite, Jeremy Hofman, Bob Johnke, Mary Verploegen (Chair), Amy Crowder-Klobofski, Barb Zuck
 - Have been meeting and have been sending their reports to Lorren to be posted
- General Education
 - Members are: <u>Terri Hildebrand (Chair)</u>, Spike Magelssen, Rodney Ridenour, Jeremy Siemens, Gary Succaw, Arlys Williams
- Graduate Council
 - Members are: Virginia Braithwaite, Randy Bachmeier, Norton Pease, Carol Reifschneider, Darlene Sellers, <u>Curtis Smeby(Chair)</u>, Larry Strizich, Steven Don, Eleazer Resurreccion, Vonnie Pattison, Joey Todd, Terri Hildebrand
- Instruction, Research & Faculty Development
 - Members are: John Snider, Eleazer Resurreccion, Kevin Ruby, Paul McKenzie-Jones
- Instructional Technology
 - Members are: Kevin Carlson, Tom Welch, Chad Spangler, Valerie Guyant
- <u>Library</u>
 - Members are: Cristy Ozburn, Joey Todd, Tom Welch, Jim Kirkpatrick

Proposals:

- 16-17 M 105 Contemporary Mathematics
 - Brought back from being tabled
 - Steven made the motion to approve
 - Jamie made the second to approve
 - o Motion was made
 - o All approved

Old Business:

New Business:

•

- New Curriculum Proposal Form
 - 9 pages in length
 - New Academic Proposal Request Form
 - More information is being asked

- Kristy Peterson, Director of Admissions/Recruitment
 - Last day is January 20, 2017
- Trade Management
 - o open to all students
- EMS
 - Faculty adjuncts now
 - Spring 2018 grant is done
- CIS
 - o Program is done

Adjournment:

- $\circ \quad \text{Steven made the motion} \quad$
- \circ $\;$ Jamie second the motion,
- o approved at 4:50pm

Respectfully Submitted by,

Debra A. Bradley